Why I Wear a Superhero Shirt on Fridays

 

One day a week I indulge my belief that I have superpowers and wear a Superhero shirt.  This could be misconstrued as ego but let me share my “why”. 

Growing up I had it in my head that one day I would find my knight in shining armor.  It’s a romantic thought but not very empowering.  Why would I need someone to “rescue” me?  I threw that childhood story out and created a new one.  The new main character was no longer a hero but a heroine.  She rode her own horse and didn’t need to be rescued from anything because she had the courage and strength to do things for herself. 

A few years back I began to wear to superhero shirts to work on Fridays as part of a campaign.  No longer with the company, I continue to embrace my inner superhero.  Quirky?  Maybe.  But Fridays give me an opportunity to remember who I am and hopefully inspire others to embrace their own superpowers.

 

4 thoughts on “Why I Wear a Superhero Shirt on Fridays

  1. Dina, it’s good to hear from you again and to reconnect. Great posts. Keep up the good work. Mona

    On Fri, Jan 13, 2017 at 10:01 AM, Reflections of a Journey wrote:

    > Dina Neatherlin-Schiaffo posted: ” One day a week I indulge my belief > that I have superpowers and wear a Superhero shirt. This could be > misconstrued as ego but let me share my “why”. Growing up I had it in my > head that one day I would find my knight in shining armor. It’s a ro” >

    Like

Leave a Reply

