Battle or Blessing?

Waking up at 5 a.m. is my new normal.  I walk a 5k each morning to get my body going.  This morning was a different story.

I believe that the mind is a brilliant piece of equipment that can be tamed and trained to do things unimaginable.  One of my biggest goals is to be free of autoimmune symptoms that I have dealt with for years.  I’m working out, walking almost 20 miles a week, eating lots of vegetables, and taking care of myself.  So this morning, it was very disheartening to wake up with the familiar aches, headache and exhaustion that I experienced in the past.  For a moment I went to a place of self blame and judgment which caused a momentary suffering.

I caught myself in that dark place and decided to change my thoughts.  “No need to suffer with the symptoms”, I told myself.

Will I ever be free of the days that slow me down?  I don’t know.  What I do know is that I have the opportunity to practice self forgiveness, slowing down and appreciating life, and being grateful for all of the days that I feel great.  If this is my reminder, then I duly note the experience as lesson learned.

77dfcff930fa6046a63f615c245b22db

2 thoughts on “Battle or Blessing?

Leave a Reply

