Sometimes I’m the Heroine and Sometimes the Supporting Character

As I sit in a booth alone at a restaurant in South Austin today, I find myself almost in tears.  I’m not sad, actually I am quite overjoyed.  Motherhood can be challenging.  The love and concern that you have for your children never leave you.  My youngest daughter is 18 and she is a very quiet and shy girl.  I’ve worried about her having a social life since her core group of best friends left for college this summer.  She works and comes home, sits on the sofa and watches anime on her computer.  What kind of life is that?  I gave her two homework assignments over the summer (mom’s rules trump her being 18).  She was to look for a career or college that she is interested in and she has to join some sort of social group.  Well here it is October and this is her first anime meetup in Austin.  I knew that if I didn’t go along for the ride she would chicken out.  So I made her drive.  When we got here, she had to find the group and introduce herself.  I am sitting at a table within earshot and I’m watching my daughter come alive.  I haven’t seen her this animated and social in I can’t remember when! My hope is that this is the beginning of an enjoyable time for her.  All parents want their children to be happy and well-adjusted.   She is surrounded by a very diverse group of people who I feel will expand her horizons.  It is beautiful watching my little daisy unfold and bloom in her own special way. Sometimes I am the heroine and others, I’m the supporting character.

Leave a Reply

