The Joys of Dinner Conversation with Teenagers

Oh the joys of dinner conversations with teenagers. 

Last night my two youngest teens were conversing about dating.  Here’s how that went down (paraphrasing) –

Daughter: You know that I heard you have a girlfriend.  Are you dating?

Son: What do you consider dating?

Daughter:  You know, going in a car to places together.

Son: Well I guess we’re not yet. 

Daughter:  I have to approve of any girl you like.  I’m the sister and I’m supposed to know these things and you didn’t tell me!

Son:  Well I have to approve of your boyfriends.  Wait….you don’t have a boyfriend.  I have to….approve….of your cats.

Needless to say I about spit my food all over the table.  Comedic relief when least expected. 

The Universe gifts us with moments at just the right time :).

 

2 thoughts on “The Joys of Dinner Conversation with Teenagers

  1. I weave my teenage daughters’ conversations into almost every blog post I write. I may be at a loss for material when they both leave the house in August. 😦

    Like

Leave a Reply

