This Son of Mine

My Boy is growing up.  He’s fourteen, kind, inquisitive, smart, witty, loving and wise beyond his years.

He came into my life at the tender age of 6.  He was a sensitive kid who cried a lot the first year of our blended family.  So many changes for a little fellow to deal with. 

In the beginning of our life together, we went through a lot of learning and growing.  Our backgrounds and culture very different.  Some days it seemed like such a stretch to find the commonality in our existence.  It did come with time. 

My heart has grown at least three sizes if not more.  I didn’t realize it was possible but here we are now and I cannot imagine life without this young man.

He is preparing to be confirmed in the Lutheran church.  I never thought I would find myself so intrinsically involved in a faith that was not my own.  Life is funny like that.  I’ve learned to love and appreciate a good group of people that I have spent a great deal of time with the last eight years of my life. 

I had to hold back the tears this morning as we prepared the last breakfast fundraiser for his DC trip to Washington.  Not tears of sadness but love for the time that I have been honored to spend with this young man.  We have evolved into a loving and trusting relationship.  Although I did not give birth to him, I thank his mother for that.  I am a parent and he is my son.

I look forward to many years ahead with this boy of mine.  I look forward to many years ahead with each of my kids.  No matter how old they become, they will always be my babies ♥.

 

 

5 thoughts on “This Son of Mine

  1. It has been a fun Ride. Not only are you his mom, you are a great friend to him. He will treasure you the rest of his life. Congrats on being in the right place at the right time.

    Like

  2. Dina:
    This is very touching. I am so glad of the relationship you have with your son. May your both prosper with love for the rest of your lives.

    This touches me with reminding me the relationship I had with my mother for all of 58 years. I left home 33 years ago and I stayed in touch with my mom at least once every week and many times more, since I left home, not including visits. I lost her on January 4, 2014 and tomorrow is her birthday February 28th. As I read your heartfelt words it brought me back to the wonderful life my mother and I shared together. Thank-you very much!

    Like

    • Joe I am so sorry to hear about your mother. I’m so glad that you had a special bond with her. It continues now just in different forms. Two birthdays for her – one when she came into this world and the other when she went back home. I’ll be thinking about you both tomorrow 💗

      Like

  3. I read a lot of interesting content here. Probably you spend a lot of time writing, i know how
    to save you a lot of time, there is an online tool that creates readable, google friendly posts in minutes, just search in google – laranitas free content source

    Like

Leave a Reply

