Damn Skippy I’m Awesome!!!

words

How did the title of this blog make you feel when you read it? Were you amused, upset or did you relate to it?  Is this ego or acceptance?

Let’s take a closer look at what brought me to the conclusion that I am AWESOME:

Flashback to the 1980’s – I’m a teenager.  The unassuming girl next door, polite, kind, shy and severely lacking in self-esteem.  I developed a nasty perception I’ll call anorexia.  It began with watching my weight and working out.  That would have been a natural and healthy thing to do but not in my world.  I had to take it a step further.  Counting calories became an obsession to be followed by skipped meals.  Crackers, applesauce and lettuce became my staple food sources.  My mother became worried about my habits after I accused her of putting an extra egg in my egg sandwich one morning.

The changes that I put in place for myself just didn’t seem to make a difference in how I felt about myself.  There was still this big hole in my heart.  I did however like the fact that my hip bones began to stick out.  In my mind, it meant that I accomplished something.  My weight became an indicator of my mood.  If I felt on the thin side, I had a good day.  If I felt bloated, God help me because I was miserable!  Imagine placing your whole perception of self-worth on ounces and pounds.  That’s what it added up to…pun intended.

The anorexic days are behind me.  They did not magically disappear.  It took years of therapy and learning self acceptance before I changed my thoughts about myself.   I know that everyone can relate to a period in their life where they beat themselves up unmercifully.  Why do we do this to ourselves?  There are many answers to this question.  Most important is how to change our self perception to one of self-love and acceptance.

It begins with unconditional love for ourselves.  Beginning to see our own divinity and gifts.  Why are we here?  What makes us unique and special?

There is no right or wrong way to go about self-love.  It is indeed an individual path and the most important thing is to just get started.  Start loving yourself.

When you begin to see the beauty in others, acknowledge that you can only see their beauty because of your own beauty.  They are a reflection of you.

There are days when I am more loving to myself than others.  Such is the human experience.  Success is having more loving days than self-deprecating ones.

The key is not to compare ourselves to others but to appreciate our own uniqueness.

Damn skippy I’m AWESOME and so are YOU!

3 thoughts on “Damn Skippy I’m Awesome!!!

Leave a Reply

