Staying Flexible in the Face of Changes

How flexible are you?  If you can clasp your hands behind your back congratulations!  But that’s not what I’m talking about.  How flexible are you when it comes to living and creating your life?

Are you exactly where you imagined yourself to be at this point?  What if you have done your best to create a new reality for yourself yet it has not come to fruition as you envisioned?  What then?  Do you abandon all your hopes and dreams and just give up?  This place of doubt must go away in order for the possibility of your dreams to continue.  If you have read The Secret by Rhonda Byrne then you understand the Law of Attraction.  You get in life what you put your energy into whether great success or failure.  The key is to have patience and faith that the Universe (God) answers your prayers in a divine timing.  When we ask for opportunities we often put conditions on the terms in how we receive it, leaving no room for the Universe to offer our wishes in the way that we are divinely supposed to receive.  I am most guilty of this!

After quitting my job as an Admin Assistant last December, I thought I would blaze a trail and finish my book in record time.  I would get my website together and have clientele built up so that I would not have to work for someone else.  In the meantime, I became spiritually stiff and unwilling to allow the steps to unfold because I already had it figured out.  It was MY plan and by golly it was going to work because I said so.  Folks, don’t try this at home…let me save you some time and energy.  What I learned (a lesson I’ve oft-repeated) is that there are more steps to creating a passionate life than simply wishing it to be so.  Here is what I have learned:

  1. Be very specific and write your wishes/desires on paper or somewhere it can be seen.
  2. Be in a state of gratitude as if it has already has happened.  The Universe flows faster and easier when we are in a state of gratitude.
  3. Now let go and hand it over to the Universe (Let go, Let God).  Surrender yourself to the ways of the Universe.
  4. Allow divine timing to reign over your desires.  Appreciate all the steps in the process.
  5. Let go of the your own ideas about how it should happen.  We often miss opportunities because we are blinded by our own interpretations of how our life should evolve.

The last statement reminds me of a story I heard as a kid.  There was a great flood and a man was standing on his roof praying to God to save him.  A boat captain passed by and said, “Come on board, I’ll save you”.  The man said, “That’s okay, God is going to save me”.  A helicopter rescue team lowered their ladder and the man again refused stating that God would save him.  Several other opportunities presented themselves but the man adamantly refused help.  He drowned and in the presence of God he asked, “God why didn’t you save me?”  God answered, “I sent you a boat, a helicopter and countless opportunities”.

So here I am about to go back to work full-time.  It is not how I pictured my life going as I strive to live my passion.  My attachment to how the process should happen has clouded my view of what is.  What is happening?  Now that I’ve been hit with the “Aha” stick right between the eyes again, I can see that there is still much work for me to do.  There are steps that must be taken to grow to my fullest potential.  Since being humbled by this realization a funny thing has happened.  Opportunities to live my passion are now presenting themselves!  I thought all along that having lots of spare time was what I needed to make it happen but I was wrong.  It is not about how busy I am but more importantly that I can help to support my family while I grow and develop my gifts.  It is about letting go of the fear of having to make a living with my gifts.  Now that is a blessing.

I start my new job in two weeks and I am very excited.  This job was offered in such a divine time for me and it is perfect for my needs.  I am thankful for the windfall opportunity.  I’m also thankful for the chance to take this job to the next level (whatever that means).  I’m not even going to imagine what that means because I have faith that the Universe is infinitely more creative than I am and it will surpass my wildest dreams ♥.

2 thoughts on “Staying Flexible in the Face of Changes

  1. Welcome to the fold! When I decided to become an Artist, I experienced much the same thing. Don’t you just LOVE the AHA! sticks. I just don’t understand why they always have to knock you in the head, you would think we could just get a bulletin board posted on the highway, or a nice e-mail. LOL! Or maybe a nice little marketing plan all written up in a nice blue folder in the mail, but NO, we actually have to follow along with the plan for us, just blindly trusting. Well you just know – we don’t do TRUST very well, too many control issues!!!!! Hugs!

    Like

Leave a Reply

