This Ain’t My First Rodeo!

The other day I was talking to mom  about some personal challenges that I’ve had.  I am sure that I went on and on but mom listened dutifully and intently while I continued to rant and rave and whine my way into a verbal meltdown.  I’m not quite sure when I realized that I was the only one doing the talking…maybe it was when I took a breath and found an eery silence between us…uh oh…mom’s worried about me now, I thought.  How could I possibly undo mom’s “worry” button?  The answer that quickly came to me did not translate into the soothing statement that I was trying to make.

I said, “This ain’t my first rodeo you know!”  

Without missing a beat my mom replied, “Well you don’t have to ride the full 8 seconds!”  She used her verbal ammunition to cut through the bull with a no-nonsense approach.  I felt like the kid who complained that when they poked their eye it hurt.  Of course we all know that the mother says, “Well quit poking your eye silly!”

What have I learned?

1. Save my breath and listen a little more

2. If I’m gonna complain to mom, I’d better be ready for a simple no-nonsense solution

3.  How do I stop the Merry-go-round?  It’s simple…just get off!

One thought on “This Ain’t My First Rodeo!

  1. Cute. Reminds me of a conversation I might have with my mom. I have to think about it -now, do I REALLY want to involve mom with this…is it REALLY worth it. It now makes me stop back and think.. b/c her time is so much more precious to me than it was when I was younger with no kids. Thank you for sharing this!

    Like

Leave a Reply

