Ripping Off the Labels

Hi my name is Dina (Envision that I am at a 12 Step meeting for compulsive labelers) and I have been labeled: bi-polar with occassional visions of grandeur (that’s what the psych doctor called it back in the late ’80’s when I told him that I could feel other people’s pain), stupid, incapable of taking care of myself, ugly, slow learner as a child, weak, and too shy.  If I truly believed all of these things today, I would not be at my desk writing this blog!  Does that make me a stupid person?  Absolutely not.  I chalk it up to life experience.  Lesson learned, got the t-shirt, now let me move on.

How many gifted people would we not benefit from if they believed what others thought of them?  Take Albert Einstein for instance who couldn’t speak until he was four or read until he was seven.  Heck, little Albert couldn’t even tie his own shoe!  Where would the world be without his brilliant observations?  Walt Disney was once fired by a newspaper editor because he lacked imagination…imagine that!  How about Thomas Edison who made 1,000 unsuccessful attempts at inventing the light bulb.  Our world would certainly be darker without Thomas who was incidentally labeled in school as too stupid to learn anything.

“Give up defining yourself – to yourself or to others. You won’t die. You will come to life. And don’t be concerned with how others define you. When they define you, they are limiting themselves, so it’s their problem.” ~Eckhart Tolle

So how would I label myself today?   You could ask me that question and in five minutes it could change!  I’m okay with that.  Life is not stagnant and neither am I.  However, I can assure you that my choice of words and thoughts about myself are much kinder these days.

What labels have you taken on in life that are limiting your potential?  Mentally take yourself to that “12 Step Label meeting” and discard all that does not serve you.

“Whether you believe you can or you can’t, it is true.” ~Henry Ford

5 thoughts on “Ripping Off the Labels

  1. Pingback: Labels « AIDA

Leave a Reply

