Cleaning the Skeletons in My Closet

This past week I have been rather grumpy.  I tackled the dreaded walk-in closet that has been neglected since we moved in over four years ago.  It took me three days and four loads of trash bags not to mention the give away piles of stuff.  Did I mention that closets have little circulation and no phone reception?  It felt like I had hired myself out to the Schiaffo Sweatshop.

Some of you are probably assuming that I am speaking of the mounds of clothes that haven’t been worn since the days of  Ditto Bendovers and wedge heels.  But that is actually not the case.  I treasure all the clothes on my rack.  Especially since they have come back in style.

The walk-in closet ordeal was one of those inner journeys that involved going through a menagerie of pictures and keepsakes.  It wasn’t the trip down Memory Lane that I envisioned for myself though.  If you come from a Brady Bunch family, you know that there are pictures and keepsakes that are His, Hers and Ours.  If you are brave enough to weather the ego storm that ensues after a full day of sorting through your partners pictures with other people (that don’t include you), then you are in a good place.  It wasn’t just his pictures, it was mine too.  Seeing the pictures of years past and silently asking myself, “What the hell was I thinking back then?”, was enough to send me into an emotional Tsunami complete with foot stomping meltdown.  Oh, “The Good, the Bad and the Ugly”, could have described me midweek.  Clint Eastwood was no match for this chick with attitude!

Was it therapuetic?  I’m still wondering about that one but I do feel relieved!  My closet is now clean and the pictures and keepsakes are organized.  It was not easy to sort through everything but I do believe that the kids will one day appreciate the fact that I took the time to preserve ALL the parts of their lives that are near and dear to them.   I cannot erase the past nor can I ignore it, but I CAN certainly clean up the emotional baggage and move on.  Okay…it WAS therapuetic.  But don’t quote me on that one.

2 thoughts on “Cleaning the Skeletons in My Closet

  1. Good for you! Yes, I understand those unexpected pre-family finds are kinda weird, but they also remind you that your partner is a not an extension of you, but are an individual. Once you get past the egos’ reaction, my experience is this can be pretty enlightening.

    Like

Leave a Reply

