Following your spiritual truths

"The light in me honors the light in you"

There was a time as an adult when I belonged to a church who actively looked for converts going door to door.  At the time I did what I thought was best and joined in the door knocking.  I have since changed my outlook on religion and spirituality.  To some of my friends dismay, I walked away from that religion.  It did leave a bad taste in my mouth for a while.  I went from being overly zealous to anti-zealous.  Looking back I understand that it was all part of my spiritual journey and I learned a great deal from participating in that particular religion.  I also had to admit that even though my time ended with that church, it didn’t make it a “bad” journey at the time.  It certainly didn’t make it a “bad” journey for others.  As a matter of fact, everyone has a path that serves them best.  How’s that for a bust to the ego?  No more “I’m right and you are wrong”.  It became, “I am doing what is best for me and you are doing what is best for you”.  The moment the “aha” light went on for me, I was greatly relieved that I no longer needed to “save” the world.  That silly adage, “I’m okay, you’re okay” took on new meaning.

As a child I was raised in a non-denominational church that taught all the basics that Christians learn growing up such as the Ten Commandments, the Lord’s Prayer, and I observed all major Christian holidays.  Where I am today is directly influenced by the sum of my life experiences.  I have a strong faith in a higher power (my favorite name is Creator) and I believe in the power of prayer (even if I call it healing energy) and my “God” has many names including Yahweh, Elohim, Allah, Heavenly Father, Heavenly Mother, Krishna, Buddha, just to name a few.  What I have learned is that we all have a spiritual journey to take.  We are all such unique and divine creations that we express ourselves in many different ways.  But the bottom line of any spiritual or religious journey is to become more the like the god that we worship and/or respect; always having an eye on personal growth and being the best human being that we can be.

Wherever you find yourself on your personal path, ensure that you are following your spiritual truths.  You will know by the joy that it gives you and the spiritual transfusion that you receive when around like minded people.

Namastè  (The Light/God in me honors the Light/God in you)

3 thoughts on “Following your spiritual truths

  1. Yes! Yes! Yes! Dina I could have been writing today’s blog! I remember you and I having a discussion about our religious pasts last September and it was such a RELIEF that you understood where I was coming from! Not only that but we had pretty much come to the same conclusion about spirituality. I must confess though to still having unpleasant feelings when it comes to organized relions….but I am working on getting a better attitude.

    Like

  2. Thanks for the response ladies. It took me a while to realize the value in everything that I had experienced. Two major things I can credit to living the door to door religion: I stopped drinking alcohol at a time when I was having a lot of difficulty (I was at a point where alcohol would have become an issue) and second I learned that even if someone slams the door in your face, you can’t take it personal. Not taking things personal was a big lesson for me. It even helped me when I became single and had to work in a sales job.

    Like

Leave a Reply

